FVREB helps recognize outstanding Surrey police officers

The Surrey Board of Trade held their 20th Anniversary Surrey Police Officer of the Year Awards on Thursday, October 6 at the Sheraton Vancouver Guildford Hotel. FVREB officers Charles Wiebe (President), Gopal Sahota (President Elect) and John Barbisan (Vice President) networked with Surrey RCMP members, auxiliary officers, civilian employees and volunteers and members of the Surrey business community at this prestigious annual event.

Gopal Sahota presented the Surrey Police Officer of the Year award (nominated by the community) to Sergeant Lyndsay O’Ruairc on behalf of our Board. We sponsored this award on behalf of our Realty Watch program.

Sgt. O’Ruairc leads the Sophie’s Place Child Advocacy Centre RCMP Special Victims Unit (SVU) team and also works with the entire SVU team at Surrey Detachment. She has been an RCMP Officer for 13 years and has worked with the SVU for seven years. She provides exemplary service to reduce the trauma experienced by child-abuse victims ensuring police engagement in collaboration with community service providers to offer on-going assistance and recovery for victims. Her leadership and encouragement motivates community agencies. For a list of all the award winners, click here.

The Fraser Valley Real Estate Board has been sponsoring the Surrey Police Officer of the Year awards for 20 years.